Good Morning Workout: How-To, Alternatives, And Progressions

Igor Klibanov
9 min readDec 9, 2022

By: Elinor Emesz and Igor Klibanov

You want to strengthen your lower back muscles, glutes and hamstrings, as well as prevent lower back pain. You may have heard that a good morning can be a good exercise for this, but you’re not sure how to do it.

In this article, I’ll cover everything you need to know about how to do a proper good morning workout, including:

● What is a good morning?

● Benefits of the good morning exercise

● How to do a good morning: proper technique/good form tips

● Avoiding injury

● How to incorporate good mornings into your workouts

● How many sets and reps?

● How much weight should you use?

● Alternatives to good mornings

● What if you don’t have enough mobility to perform good mornings?

Before we jump in, you’re probably wondering what qualifies me to talk about good mornings and exercise tips, so I’d like to introduce myself. Hi.

I’m Igor.

I am a 7-time author on fitness and nutrition, including the book Run Faster, Jump Higher, Go Farther. I am also a personal trainer and have been selected as one of the top 5 personal trainers in Toronto, Ontario.

Now that you know a bit more about me, let’s jump in.

--

--

Igor Klibanov

Igor Klibanov is the author 7 books on exercise and nutrition, including 2 bestsellers. Read more of his articles at http://www.FitnessSolutionsPlus.ca/blog